Great to see

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 meagansbettas

meagansbettas
  • Forum Member

Posted 15 January 2003 - 05:37 AM

Hey guys,

Great to see there is finally an Aussie based Catfish/loach forum... I hope this will continue to thrive!!

I am only relatively new to catfish.. cories in particular. I have always had cories (aneus, schwartzii) in my tanks, and never really thought of trying to spawn them!!

Lucky for me here in Queensland, there are 4 auctions a year in Brisbane/gold coast... and this is where I stumbled across a bargain for c. panda... I purchased 6 for like $20. Unfortunately I have lost 3 of them (one knocked himself out on the log in the tank, and 2 died of no obvious signs). I have since purchased another 5, and have a total of 8. They are in a 2ftx18"x 18" with sand substrate and java fern! They are great little guys... no luck with the spawning yet... the 5 newies are a little small!

I have also now gained 5 schwartzii to add to the 2 I have had for over 12mths... and I landed 6 Aspidoras pauciradiatus... they are great little guys too!

I am looking to try my hand at spawning a few species, as up here in Rural Central QLD, we have a very limited supply!

I also breed Bettas (aka Siamese fighting fish), and this is my altimate passion.. I have imported 17 pairs of show quality HM, CT, DT and short fin from Thailand... all currently spawning.

I also have 8 Black ghost knives (not spawned, but we'll see how we go), a breeding trio of bristlenose, colony of 6 convicts (purely for live food)... and I think that is it! Oh, 2 pairs of mouth brooding bettas!

I am on the prowl for some S. multis, peppermint BNS and some more pandas... if anyone can help out (and in SE QLD) that'd be great... drop me a line at meagans_bettas@hotmail.com

Thanks, and I look forward to joining you guys and learning A LOT more about these fantastic (and often overlooked) fish!!

Meagan

#2 Guest_Alan Caboolture_*

Guest_Alan Caboolture_*