Photo

Whitespot Question

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 anno1685

anno1685
  • Forum Member

Posted 16 February 2008 - 07:41 PM

I've just discovered some mild whitespot on my mbunas.

I've acted according to what I've seen on the forums: I've done a 50% water change, cranked the temperature up to 30 degrees celsius, added salt at 1 tablespoon per 5 gallon, turned off all the lights, increased the aeration and will be doing water changes every 2nd day. Will be doing this for a whole week hoping it will clear. Just one small detail (bear with me, I'm a completely beginner), what about the feeding regimen?

[/i]

#2 Fox

Fox
  • Forum Member

Posted 16 February 2008 - 07:47 PM

Feeding is fine to go on as normal.
Are you going to treat with anything?

I usually recommend the following:

Day one:
20% Water change using gravel siphon, and treat with good quality white spot treatment.
Leave lights off and temp up to 28 degress.

Day three:
20% water change using gravel siphon, treat again with W/S product.
Keep the lights off.

Day six:
Do the same as above, By now the parasite should've cleared.

By doing the gravel siphon, it picks up any eggs that havent hatched as the W/S treatment DOESNT kill the eggs only the parasite.

Just remember to put your temp back down when it has gone. But just keep an eye on your fish as W/S parasite has been known to reappear after approx 2 weeks.

Hope that helps

Cheers
Az

#3 anno1685

anno1685
  • Forum Member

Posted 16 February 2008 - 07:59 PM

(Aquatic Dreams)
Feeding is fine to go on as normal.
Are you going to treat with anything?

I usually recommend the following:

Day one:
20% Water change using gravel siphon, and treat with good quality white spot treatment.
Leave lights off and temp up to 28 degress.

Day three:
20% water change using gravel siphon, treat again with W/S product.
Keep the lights off.

Day six:
Do the same as above, By now the parasite should've cleared.