Fish Friends

fish cichlid

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Codiejoy

Codiejoy
  • Forum Member

Posted 11 April 2014 - 11:27 PM

Hi I'm new to both this forum and fish as a hobby, and just want some advice please and thanks :)

I've done some quick research but not too sure if I can keep a clown loach with the fish ive decided to get in the future.

With the research I did, I found these fish were most compatible together (and of colours that interested me). If you feel I am wrong, please let me know. I have only Google'd around searching through wikipedia and other sites. Im sure personal experience would be more helpful than a website.

The fish I have decided to put on my yes list are;

Pseudotropheus Crabro (Bumble Bee Cichlid)

Pseudotropheus Salousi

Labidochromis Hongi

Do you think a clown loach would do well with them? The clown loach is generally friendly however those fish above can be aggressive to other species of fish so im not sure? I really want either a clown loach or a catfish in with my fish.

Oh and I wanted a red Zebra and a Jewel but I read they can be very aggressive, so I think maybe they aren't best kept with my chosen fish? Or do you think otherwise? (I would love a red/orange fish as above are mainly blue/yellow)

#2 Redevilz

Redevilz
  • Forum Member

Posted 12 April 2014 - 07:30 AM

Welcome to Perth Cichlid Society!!

Yes, clown loaches go very well in small groups and are happier in groups rather than a single loach.

How large is the aquarium? This can change whether the fish would be ok together or not dramatically. The larger the tank the less likely they are going to be aggressive towards eachother. Caves and hidey holes help as well to provide places where the less aggressive fish can hide if other fish have a space in the tank which they protect.

Although I am not an expert on malawi cichlids.

Edited by Redevilz, 12 April 2014 - 07:31 AM.

#3 Michael the fish fanatic

Michael the fish fanatic