Ryans Bonzai Aquascape

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Ryan-w

Ryan-w
  • Forum Member

Posted 07 June 2016 - 07:08 PM

Hi guys!

Since the last one was so fun I'm definitely in for this again. The last tank was a monster and it ended up getting me some grate prizes but this one will be very different

It's a nano tank and something I have never done before or know much about.

The plan is to have a scape of a tree growing by a clif side. I'm undecided on what's going to live in the tank yet and I'm still researching what plants I can use as Plants aren't something I know a whole lot about.

The tank- just a little 2 ft tank made by morley aquariums I had as a old hospital tank for a few years thats never been used.

1ytnk2.jpg

So where there is death there is new life! An old bonzai of mine that got a little too much sun will be my experiment. No idea how this is going to work or not, going to try with the dead leafs on the tree first to see if moss will grow on that if not I'll have to trim it and try moss with out the leafs. Still trying to decide on what's the best moss

2j676yp.jpg

The Rock! Not the Jabroni beating Pie eating kind thats now in Hollywood but the kind you see in all those cool shapes from Asia. $35 from city farmers
5mb70m.jpg

Placement is key
2q0t84x.jpg

The soil. This is thanks to the last aquascape competition a bag of ADA Amazonia ive had sitting in a bucket of water waiting to be used and finaly it has its chance. Maybe it will be good luck

v83pn4.jpg

In with the tree, the soil and a few other rocks too. Im undecided if the rocks will stay there but they will keep the tree down while it's water logging.

2rw9so0.jpg

I've filled the tank to start the water logging process but you can't see anything because it's so brown from the soil.

I'm thinking of dwarf baby tears for the "grass" of the tank so thats the next thing I need to try and find

#2 Ryan-w

Ryan-w
  • Forum Member

Posted 09 July 2016 - 03:10 PM