My Turn

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 meedee1209

meedee1209
  • Forum Member

Posted 11 May 2011 - 07:59 PM

hey all

i've been hanging round the site for a few months now gathering all the information i can due to only recently setting up my first tank smile.gif .
it was a birthday present from my girlfriend once she found out how long ive wanted fish for, and after some shopping around and browsing we both really loved the idea of Red Devils smile.gif

so ... my current tank set up .. well, nothing special, i asked my girlfriend specifically not to spend alot (little did i know later on it would end up costing enough anyways) ... so we got it 2nd hand from her dad ...

- 4' tank, i think its 14" deep and 18" high ... but not 100% sure its been months since i measured.
- aqua one 104F filter
- aqua one 300W heater
- cheap air pump
- 24" air bar
- gravel substrate, black and green
- basic 4' light
- standard stand that i've cut, drilled and hinged wood to, so its now a cupboard.
- few bits of limestone and rock ...

all this was set up and cycled 5 days prior to my 19th .. so my birthday present on the day .... a pair of red devils from malaga aquariums smile.gif

... after a few months, and moving house i had come to the conclusion i had a male and female fish ... that was later confirmed when i got my first lot of fry .. noticed on christmas day smile.gif
unfortunately due to my lack of knowledge and experiance i lost all those fry .. but a few months ago the 2nd lot was born, and a few weeks back i sold the remaining 39 to AAA.

now for the fun part, as i metioned earlier eventually the cheap tank would cost money .. well as i realised not long after buying the devils, this tank is to small for a pair ... so what to do??

My new tank which i will be picking up on the 21st of may ....
- 6x2x2 with black stand and matching hood from Aquotix.
- Fluval Fx5 Cannister Filter (currently running on my 4' to reduce new tank cycle time)