120l Planted Community Tank

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 DiscusDreaming

DiscusDreaming
  • Forum Member

Posted 16 March 2011 - 09:49 AM

Hi Everyone,

I am a bit of a newbie and this is my first post, so please be gentle...

I have a 120L planted tank that is home to the following fish stock:

2 x Clown Loaches (approx 5cm)
8 x Harlequin Rasboras
2 x Twig Catfish
8 x Cardinal Tetra

I'm pretty sure that something in my tank is nipping at my Cardinal Tetra. I've been losing 2 per day over the last couple of days.

My first thought was that I may have some problems with the levels in my tank or maybe a parasite or disease. The Tetras will have a whiteness to parts of their body and have troubles swimming, then will die in the next few hours.

This morning I noticed one of my Tetras was having real difficulty swimming, and upon closer inspection it seem like part of its tail is missing. Being the largest fish in my tank, my assumption is that the Loaches are the culprits. But my Harlequin Rasbora seem to generally dominate the tank, they swim around happily and energetically, while the Tetras tend to huddle in a corner and not explore the tank much at all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :-)

*I can also provide pictures or videos if it might help*

#2 Juls

Juls
  • Forum Member

Posted 16 March 2011 - 05:10 PM

I don't think the problem is something is nipping your cardinals, I feel that you have some kind of tetra disease in the tank, and as each tetra starts to succumb the other fish in the tank notice the struggling fish and start to nip at it, which is perfectly normal behavior regardless of the type of fish.

The other remaining tetras and the rasboras will start to nip at any fish thats struggling health wise, eventually the clown loaches would have a go too.