6Ft Project. Africans In Kalgoorlie

diy led 6 foot african sump k1 project bean animal

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 burnsy

burnsy
  • Forum Member

Posted 14 July 2013 - 09:17 PM

I have been keeping cichlids for around two years now. I got myself a bowfront blue planet setup from my lfs and filled it with Maingano and yellow labs. I was advised that this setup would require aditional filtration but thought it would be ok. I had fairly good sucess up till recently when i began loosing them all one by one. I put this down to lack of maintainence as I was spending more and more time out of town for work and my setup needed weekly water changes. Turns out I should have listend to someone that knew better than me. Ahh well we live and learn.

Rather than blow money on adding filters to my small tank I decided I wanted bigger with better filtration. I picked up a second hand 6x1.5x2 from a local guy in Kalgoorlie. I probably payed a bit too much for it but thats just the Kalgoorlie tax thats added to everything here. It had no stand which suited me as I wanted to build one anyway. It has curved corners which I quite like aswell but the filter and light in the lid were no good.