Photo

200L Marine

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Michaeal-959

Michaeal-959
  • Forum Member

Posted 28 April 2015 - 05:51 PM

looking to change my cichlid tank to marine. Just wondering if im heading in the right direction. was going to get a aqua one proskin g216, mainly because of the price and decent reviews. Am also after a suitable light for the tank. not exactly sure what filtration i need but i currently have a eheim cannister running but not sure if i should keep it or what? Also need some info on how often ill need to do water changes? Also if anyone knows of any decent light for an affordable price let me know :)

so main thoughts of concern are 

filtration

protein skimmer

water changes

light

thanks for any info

michael

#2 0zarrian

0zarrian
  • Forum Member

Posted 28 April 2015 - 08:42 PM

Hey, im only new to marine but have done a lot of reading, (I don't know that much.... just a little) canister filters are no good for a reef system, stick to Live rock and a skimmer. i have a nano 60L with about 15Kg of live rock, which iv had for about 9 months problem free. stock is 2 small-medium clowns, a blue/green chromis and a peppermint shrimp and a few corals, an elegance, 3 zoa rocks, xenia, shrooms and some disk corals and i do a weekly 10% water change. also make sure you use RO/DI water. i am currently setting up a 200L of my own an am planing on running sumpless, with a Tunzes DOC 9004 skimmer and some Sicce Voyager nano powerheads and will just do a weekly water change with RO / salt mix.

I recommend head down to Vebas, i know its far for you from Hillarys but the guys down there have good advice. good luck. and welcome to the salt side

Skimmers are hard to pick go larger on the capacity and go for LED for your lights, best things since sliced bread. 

Edited by 0zarrian, 28 April 2015 - 08:46 PM.

#3 Michaeal-959

Michaeal-959
  • Forum Member

Posted 28 April 2015 - 09:49 PM