Photo

Is This A Good Thing Or A Bad Thing

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 shayne

shayne
  • Forum Member

Posted 06 November 2013 - 03:27 PM

gday all, a newbie here risking the scorn of those who are thoroughly bored with bn but i am a rookie. about 2 months ago  i noticed some albino bn fry in 1 of my community tanks, i only had commons/marbled? so i found dad and cave and netted him and remaining fry[ some big clown loaches in this tank,predation is high ] put them in a seperate tank. today i have the same thing, again i have netted dad ,cave and fry.appears to be about a 50/50 ratio of albino/cmmns. question is is this desirable and if it is i guess i should be looking for the female?? and if its not should i cull them?? cheers

#2 waxy

waxy
  • Forum Member

Posted 06 November 2013 - 06:07 PM

It's not a bad thing in my opinion. You get a few of each. Some people say that it's not possible to get albino fry from two common parents but I have had it happen before. It might be undesirable for you if you don't want your tank overrun with BN tho.

#3 rx007

rx007
  • Forum Member

Posted 06 November 2013 - 06:46 PM

I was proud as punch the 1st time my bristle nose bred, congrats to you Shayne! Mixed BN fry are a blessing, you can raise them up a little then trade them to your local fish store for some credit or fish food. Beware, BN poo a lot and mess your tanks up I have found..
Make sure to trade some with fellow fish friends to vary bloodlines every so often ;)

#4 Furnix

Furnix
  • Forum Member

Posted 06 November 2013 - 09:34 PM