Photo

peppermint catfish

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 madjak

madjak
  • Forum Member

Posted 03 January 2003 - 07:47 AM

heya... I spose peppermints don't really fall into the Australian catfish category but I thought I may as well ask on here.

I have two peppermint catfish bought 6 mnths ago at a little under an inch long. They have really grown quite fast and one is now around 6cm and the other about 5cm long.

Is there a way to sex these fellows? The bigger one has three or four small bristles coming out the front of his nose and the smaller one has a few less.

What length/age do they need to be to start breeding?

thanks,
Rick

PS what catfish are from Australia?

Edited by: MadJak at: 1/2/03 11:51:37 pm

#2 mtchye

mtchye
  • Validating

Posted 03 January 2003 - 03:45 PM

Hi Rick,

The Australian catfish and loach forum is for catfish enthusiasts in Australia, not australian catfish.. :rollin

I'm no expert in sexing peppermints (i have a few that I'm not sure of myself) but apparently if yours have any bristles that go up the top of the head they are definitely males. Females either have no bristles or just a few around the mouth...

#3 mtchye

mtchye
  • Validating

Posted 03 January 2003 - 03:48 PM

Heres a large male.

There is more on ancistrus in general in the FAQ forum, under the topic ancistrus profile.

#4 madjak

madjak
  • Forum Member

Posted 03 January 2003 - 09:05 PM

ahh it's how I took the wording of the name...

The Australian (Catfish & Loach) Forum
not The (Australian Catfish) & Loach Forum

hehe...

anyway, I'll try and take some pics of them and post them here but they are very shy and hard to get to come out from all the wood I have in my tank.

I didn't realise they are different length to width ratios to the bristlenoses . Or is that just the photo?

Mine might be too small to grow the brsitles up the head. The male bristlenoses I have that are the same size are growing their bristles now.

Thanks,
Rick