Posted Image

PCS & Stuart M. Grant - Cichlid Preservation Fund - Details here

Photo

What Can I Put With My Pearl Cichlid+Bgk?

cichlid pearl cichlid ghost knife BGK Red Devil

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kerbey53

kerbey53
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 December 2014 - 06:42 PM

Hey Guys!

I am quite new to cichlid keeping.This is my first post.

So recently I bought a tank which came with a 13cm Pearl Cichlid.  In the tank at the moment there is a 7-10cm ghost knife, a few Rasbora's, a bristlenose catfish and a couple of small shark thingys. Theres alot of tank room so I want to add more in.

The pearl cichlid is aggressive but fine with them.

I tried introducing two smaller cichlids but overnight he killed out and I got the other one out before he could kill it as well. 

Would a 10-15cm Red Devil be fine with him? and would it attack the ghost knife? 

Also someone is willing to sell me a 20cm pearl cichlid. Would that be fine with my smaller guy? and would it be fine with the ghost knife?

Could I put discus or angels in there or would the pearl be aggressive to them? I was thinking maybe he is just aggressive to other cichlids maybe.

Any help is greatly appreciated

This is the Pearl cichlid I have. Attached File  photo 2 (1).JPG   148.5KB   9 downloads

#2 Riggers

Riggers
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 December 2014 - 09:58 PM

its going to be trail and error with the red devil, he may be okay but it's a matter of testing it out and see what happens..

The discus and angels with definately cop a beating..

You could try another species of Geophagus like the 'steindachneri' (red hump earth eater) in with him, pretty tough fish and great to watch sifting through the substrate :)

#3 werdna

werdna
  • Forum Member

Posted 22 December 2014 - 08:31 AM

What size tank have you got?

#4 kerbey53

kerbey53
  • Forum Member

Posted 22 December 2014 - 08:24 PM

Its 4ft long, approximatly 280.4 litres