Filtration - Internal Or External

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Ivan Sng

Ivan Sng
  • Forum Member

Posted 07 February 2010 - 08:48 PM

Hi guys,

On the topic of filtration, I am quite new to the aquarium thing. I have been supplied with a 1000L/hr internal power head filter. I have a tank that is approximately 220L.

Was wondering what is an more efficient filter?? External canister?? Do the internal power head filter do a decent job??

Your comments would be much appreciated so I am yet to install the filter and can still change my mind and go to a more efficient filter... although it would have to mean actually less work too... I am a bit lazy at times...

#2 Cawdor

Cawdor
  • Admin

Posted 07 February 2010 - 09:33 PM

Filtration really comes down to what media you use. There are several types of filtration, the most important being mechanical and biological.
Mechanical removes debris from water usually via sponge material or ceramic noodles.
Biological converts bad chemicals like ammonia and nitrites to the less toxic nitrate.

As a rule of thumb, the filter should be able to move the volume of your tank 2-3 times an hour.

Internal filters with attached media compartment are quite cheap, but take up room inside your tank and can be an eyesore. Canister filters are external and thus easier to access for maintenance. They are also more expensive. The cheapest filters would be sponge filters, they are driven by an airpump and are very efficient, easy to clean but they also take up room inside the tank and the air bubbles make noise.

In the end it's up to you which type you use. If your tank is a display tank, I would go with a canister (Eheim), if it's more of a breeding setup I'd go for a sponge filter.
Our sponsors have good deals on filters smile.gif
If you are a club member you also get 10% off.

#3 dazzabozza

dazzabozza

Life Member

• Admin

Posted 07 February 2010 - 10:35 PM