Posted Image

PCS & Stuart M. Grant - Cichlid Preservation Fund - Details here

Photo

Whats Going On And Whats In The Pipe Lines.

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Neakit

Neakit
  • Forum Member

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:36 PM

Ok cause of Nick and Gareth wanting pics i will divulge what im in the middle of planning and what i currently have.

First up heres some pics of a setup im half way through the build with.

Its a 3x3x2 sumped. Lighting is still up in the air cause im doing a diy led build very soon but thats another story.

and with panels on.

Heres most of the stand build, i had a chippy mate do the technical stuff im just a mechanic who prefers to work with metal, its just metal would look crappy with cedar.

starting making the top

heres the base

one side done

and heres the 3/4 finished product.

and this is how far i have gotten with this project.

Now this stand has been made to come apart into 3 pieces cause 1100mm cubes dont fit through doorways. Its going to have removable cedar panelling cause i think it will look orsom. Its also missing the strengtheners in the back and sides but i will get there, my mate is annoying me to finish it so we can get onto the cedar panels.

#2 Neakit

Neakit
  • Forum Member

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:54 PM

more to come soon i just have to make dinner for the missus.

#3 Gareth

Gareth
  • Forum Member

Posted 18 January 2012 - 07:32 PM

Awsum....

What DIY LED's u going for?

Why have ur overflow box so short? Wouldn't it be better to make it stretch as far as possible accross the tank so it has better surface skimming?

What equipment are u planning on using? (return pump, skimmer, refugium lighting, wavemakers etc)....

Any idea how much ur spending? Got a budget?

#4 Neakit

Neakit
  • Forum Member

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:51 PM

The leds im going to use are from the link i posted for you earlier, http://www.rapidled....vlet/StoreFront