Organic Vegi Gardening

• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 Den

Den
  • Forum Member

Posted 29 January 2009 - 11:38 AM

Hi All

At first I saw vegi gardening as just a boring chore, but once I started getting results and reaping the product I found its pretty enjoyable and rewarding, now I really enjoy getting out there every morning. Pardon the pun, but once you start it really grows on you.

My Great Uncle used to commercially grow tomatoes in Sydney and he had two tomato crops, a seperate crop for the family and the other crop was for the supermarket! need I say more?

I'm no expert at this but try to keep this garden as organic as possible, with a base of peat and mushroom compost to which I have been adding only certified organic mixed animal poohs and soils from bunnings. The soils looks unbelievably healthy, its like worm city.

Since setup it takes me less than 20 minutes a week to maintain this garden, less time than it takes to drive to the shop! and I prefer to be working on my garden than standing with a trolly in a shopping cue, what a waste of life that is. Because its raised its really easy to work on - no bending over! and you keep the plants closer to your eyes so you can easily spot any problems early, it also keeps most of the weeds out and if an occasional weed pops up it takes only a second to pick out.

I'm planning to make a second garden bed next to this one, and my goal is to become completely self sufficient with my vegetables.

With this single bed alone I have reduced my vegetable bill from about $90 to about $20 a week, I used to spend about $15 a week just on herbs. But the best thing is the great taste and your not eating phosphate grown crap full of hebicides and pesticides that they sell at the supermarket. Also I share alot of my excess produce with family and friends, who all make comments about the great taste.