High Risk Jobs/occupations.

• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Wet Dreams

Wet Dreams
  • PCS Club Member

Posted 15 March 2011 - 06:56 AM

Hi All,

Well after an eventful nightshift with my job i thought i'd put it out there and see who else has a high risk job.
Im a HD Earthmover Tyre Fitter- In other words i change tyres on dumptrucks for a living. The job is full of risks due to using such large components, to get an idea picture a person standing next to the tyre and only being half as tall as it. The tyres alone weigh in at over 3 tonnes and are inflated to 110-115psi.

But lastnight was a real eye opener for me and not a normal night. I was at a park-up bay with a fellow worker about to check the tyre pressures on a few trucks while they were stopped for dinner. As we turned around and started walking towards a truck all hell broke loose..one of the tyres burst completely unexpected. Consequently the blast was defening and sent debris flying. My self and fellow worker were only 8meters away when it went off, and had we been any closer it would have been disatrous.

The scariest part is knowing we were heading to that exact truck to check, and if we were there 10seconds earlier it would have been disaster. Scared the crap out of us both and are just greatful to get away injury free as the results could have been fatal.

So who else has a high risk job? Ever had any serious incidents?

Edited by Wet Dreams, 15 March 2011 - 06:57 AM.

#2 tha_krust

tha_krust
  • Forum Member

Posted 15 March 2011 - 08:47 AM