Cleaning Algae

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 joey

joey
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 September 2011 - 01:09 PM

hey guys'

Just want to know the best way to remove green hair algae from live rock and glass.
Ive heard that manually is the best way?
but ive also heard that some fish etc can also help remove it.

im new to this, so please any help is wanted smile.gif

Joe

#2 Riggers

Riggers
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 September 2011 - 01:29 PM

Hey bud,

If your getting hair algae have a look at the lights your using because this could be one of the reasons, I found when using T8's I had good soft coral growth but also a lot of hair algae. There are a few species that will eat it but for the most part you'll need to just pull the algae off...

Hope this helps mate
Nick

#3 joey

joey
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 September 2011 - 01:40 PM

cheers Nick,

im using t8's at the moment, but im getting some t5's soon, hopefully they are better smile.gif

Edited by joey, 21 September 2011 - 04:32 PM.

#4 joey

joey
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 September 2011 - 04:31 PM

anyone know any effective algae eating fish species for marines?
might aswell try and get some biggrin.gif

Edited by joey, 21 September 2011 - 04:37 PM.

#5 Neakit

Neakit
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 September 2011 - 07:22 PM

Lawn mower blenny is the safest, With algea problems the big problems start with your water quality not your lighting, check your nitrates and phosphates, With nitrates you should aim for 0 and with phosphates .04 is the level in nsw.

Other algea eaters are tangs, fox faced rabbit fish, snails and hermit crabs. Hermit crabs are known to kill snails for shells, foxface rabbit fish grow big and tangs need a lot of swimming area.
If you have a sump dont be surprised if you find the blenny does some pipe surfing.

**spelling

Edited by Neakit, 21 September 2011 - 07:24 PM.

#6 joey

joey
  • Forum Member

Posted 21 September 2011 - 07:34 PM