Photo

Need Help Setting Up Tank For Lionfish

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Managuense

Managuense
  • Forum Member

Posted 26 June 2008 - 06:37 PM

Hey all. I went into Midland the other day and fell in love with the Lionfish they had in stock.
I was wondering what requirements i needed to have to house one. I have a 3x18x18 here that i can use. Will this suffice for space??
Should i use live rock or limestone for decor??
Will it be a bad move to add some Coral???
What type of filters should i use. On the 3 footer currently is a large overflow filter and an internal filter, will that be enough or should i use a cannister??
I have a dual light on the tank with white lights, not sure of the brand as it was given to me. What should my lighting be???
And lastly what can i put in there to live with him successfully???

I am new to marines and this is my first marine tank. So any advice will be muchly appreciated biggrin.gif

Cheers
Kyle

#2 golden_dase

golden_dase
  • Forum Member

Posted 26 June 2008 - 07:00 PM

There's some threads regarding new marine tank set-ups in this topic/forum.. Might be worth reading them as they cover most of your answers. tongue.gif

And also try Manta Marine Aquariums in Malaga. They have a great looking "Lionfish display tank" in their shop and I'm sure they will gladly answer your lionfish questions! smile.gif

#3 Managuense

Managuense
  • Forum Member

Posted 26 June 2008 - 07:18 PM

Thanks Golden_dase, will have to check out Manta Marine.

Kyle

#4 Iamsam

Iamsam
  • Forum Member

Posted 26 June 2008 - 07:27 PM

QUOTE (Firemouth_32 @ Jun 26 2008, 06:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I was wondering what requirements i needed to have to house one. I have a 3x18x18 here that i can use. Will this suffice for space?? depends what sort of lionfish, is it a dwarf or what?
Should i use live rock or limestone for decor?? live rock as it is not only decor but also acts as a filter