Photo

Tank Advice

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 shane78

shane78
  • Forum Member

Posted 22 October 2013 - 06:33 PM

Ok I still need help these cichlids are driving me bonkers, I keep seeing tanks the same size as mine with a heap of cichlids all swimming together out in the open and come out when u look yet my tank just looks like a bunch of rocks with hiding fish,

I thought I had sorted it after getting rid of my 20cm monster and replaced with 3 juvies, all was good for two days now its the same,  I am still learning and just want to have a really nice happy cichlid tanks.

So this is what I have, its a 3 foot tank 91 x 35 x 45cm with a aqua one cf1000 canister.

I have a

15cm red empress

10cm electric yellow

5cm electric yellow

5cm tangerine peocock

and what I think could be a eureka red peocock 5cm

oh and 2 adult apple snails.

That 15 and 10cm guys swim around the most and the red empress seems to have taking over the bully roll, could the others be hiding because they came in the after those guys.

What can I do to make this an active one, I am thinking of getting another 5 or 6 maybe 7 juvie cichlids bout 5cm and putting them in what do u guys think

I know the tank is kinda small but it is all I have at the moment and am not upgrading any time soon.

Any advice and tips will be greatly appreciatted.

Edited by shane78, 22 October 2013 - 06:37 PM.

#2 Dylan Simmons

Dylan Simmons
  • Forum Member

Posted 22 October 2013 - 06:59 PM

maybe take out some hiding spots, turn lights off? dont feed them for a few days get them following you for food?

#3 TheTexasCichlidMasacre

TheTexasCichlidMasacre
  • PCS Club Member

Posted 22 October 2013 - 08:48 PM

the bigger ones are gonna be bossy to the little ones... you cant just expect them to get along straight away... give them time... if you are expecting things to happen within a day or 2... i find the more i change things the more unsettled some fish become ...